

EDITORIAL

The 24th Nordic Semiconductor Meeting

To cite this article: Haraldur Páll Gunnlaugsson et al 2012 Phys. Scr. 2012 010101

View the article online for updates and enhancements.

You may also like

- Impedance-based tissue discrimination for needle guidance
 Håvard Kalvøy, Lars Frich, Sverre Grimnes et al.
- Interphantom and interscanner variations for Hounsfield units—establishment of reference values for HU in a commercial QA phantom Erlend Peter Skaug Sande, Anne Catrine Trægde Martinsen, Eli Olaug Hole et al.
- <u>Segmentation of DNA sequences into</u> <u>twostate regions and melting fork regions</u> Eivind Tøstesen, Geir Kjetil Sandve, Fang Liu et al.

EDITORIAL

The 24th Nordic Semiconductor Meeting

Guest Editors

Haraldur Páll Gunnlaugsson, Arne Nylandsted Larsen and Christian Uhrenfeldt Department of Physics and Astronomy, Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark A Nordic Semiconductor Meeting is held every other year with the venue rotating amongst the Nordic countries of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. The focus of these meetings remains 'original research and science being carried out on semiconductor materials, devices and systems'. Reports on industrial activity have usually featured. The topics have ranged from fundamental research on point defects in a semiconductor to system architecture of semiconductor electronic devices. Proceedings from these events are regularly published as a Topical Issue of *Physica Scripta*. All of the papers in this Topical Issue have undergone critical peer review and we wish to thank the reviewers and the authors for their cooperation, which has been instrumental in meeting the high scientific standards and quality of the series.

This 24th meeting of the Nordic Semiconductor community, NSM 2011, was held at Fuglsøcentret, close to Aarhus, Denmark, 19–22 June 2011. Support was provided by the Carlsberg Foundation, Danfysik and the semiconductor group at Aarhus University. Over 30 participants presented a broad range of topics covering semiconductor materials and devices as well as related material science interests.

The conference provided a forum for Nordic and international scientists to present and discuss new results and ideas concerning the fundamentals and applications of semiconductor materials. The aim of the meeting was to advance the progress of Nordic science and thus aid in future worldwide technological advances concerning technology, education, energy and the environment.

The 25th Nordic Semiconductor Meeting will be organized in June 2013 in Finland, chaired by Dr Filip Tuomisto, Aalto University. A Nordic Summer School on Semiconductor Science will be organized in connection with the conference (just before), chaired by Dr Jonatan Slotte, Aalto University. Information on these events can be found at http://physics.aalto.fi/nsm2013.

List of participants

Søren Vejling Andersen Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark Pia Bomholt Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark University of Iceland, Revkiavik, Iceland Hafliði P Gíslason Haraldur Páll Gunnlaugsson Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark John Hansen Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark Britta Johansen Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark Linköping University, Linköping, Sweden Volodymyr Khranovskyy Arne Nylandsted Larsen Aarhus University, Denmark Helge Malmbekk University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway Institute for Energy Technology, Kjeller, Norway Erik Stensrud Marstein Antonio Marti Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Madrid, Spain Torben Mølholt University of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland Sveinn Ólafsson University of Iceland, Revkiavik, Iceland Thomas Pedersen Technical University of Denmark, Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark Thomas Garm Pedersen Dirch Hjorth Petersen Technical University of Denmark, Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark Vincent Quemener University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway Henry Radamson KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Kista, Sweden University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway Bahman Raeissi Jonatan Slotte Aalto University, Aalto, Finland Xin Song University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway Einar Örn Sveinbjörnsson University of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland Mikael Syväjärvi Linköping University, Linköping, Sweden Chi Kwong Tang University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway Erik V Thomsen Technical University of Denmark, Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark Christian Uhrenfeldt Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark Hans Ulrik Ulriksen Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark Muhammad Usman KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Kista, Sweden Lasse Vines University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway Ulrich Wahl Unidade de Física e Aceleradores, Sacavém, Portugal NTNU, Trondheim, Norway Helge Weman Gerd Weyer Aarhus University, Denmark